Shakespeare Performance Alerts for the East Coast!

Apologies for my long absence from blogging; my literature classes this semester leave me little time for recreational reading and writing!

But today I write of good news for Shakespeare lovers on the East Coast, particularly in the NY/NJ/PA area.  Spring has arrived, and before long, there will be opportunities to enjoy outdoor theatrical performances.

SITP_ANNOUNCING_2013_580x400

One not to be missed, is the 2013 Season of “Free Shakespeare in the Park.”  Yes, I said FREE!  Click on the link for details regarding the schedule of performances and location (Delacorte Theater in Central Park, NYC).

winters-tale-bgIf outdoor performances aren’t your thing, or you’re itchin’ for some Shakespeare right now, The Winter’s Tale is being performed at Princeton’s McCarter Theatre from April 2 through 21.  I have my ticket for the April 2nd performance, and can’t wait to see it!

othello_webOne more production I need to mention, is The Philadelphia Shakespeare Theatre’s staging of Othello starring Tony-nominated actor Forrest McClendon.  I will also be purchasing a ticket for this play which I’ve recently studied, yet never had the opportunity to see performed.

Remember Hamlet’s words everyone:  “The play’s the thing!”  Go see a performance, and watch Shakespeare’s words spring to life.

2 responses

  1. Hey, Debbie! Like you mentioned in your post, I have heard that New York’s “Shakespeare in the Park” is a magical experience. I really want to venture out to the city soon and see one of the Shakespeare performances. It’s definitely on my summer to-do list!

    1. Glad to hear that! I am going to try to make it there, too. Thanks so much for giving me the heads-up on this event, Katie!

Leave a Reply

