Deconstructing Royal Symbolism in “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”

200px-MND_title_page

Title page of the first quarto, 1600

A Midsummer Night’s Dream is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays.  So, when my daughters both announced that they are reading it in their middle school literature classes, I was thrilled!  Unfortunately, they did not share my enthusiasm.

Since I’ve taken it upon myself to make Shakespeare as fun as possible, I ordered the film version on DVD, starring Kevin Kline and Michelle Pfeiffer, from Netflix.

Next, I dug out my old homework and searched for helpful notes to ease my daughters “suffering.”

In the process, I found a paper I’d written last semester and wanted to share it with my blog readers.  I hope it motivates others to read between the lines of the plays; I found the process fascinating.

Disclaimer:  this was my first attempt at Deconstruction, so bear with me!

“Deconstructing Royal Symbolism in A Midsummer Night’s Dream

457px-Elizabeth1

The “Pelican Portrait” of Queen Elizabeth 1 c.1575 by Nicolas Hilliard.

2 responses

  1. Wow, thanks so much for the compliments and congratulations on snagging the role of Lysander in your high school’s production of “MND!” Trust me, I’m still a student, and learn something new every day. I find that digging into the historical background enhances my enjoyment of these plays. Give me some time to look over my notes and see what I can come up with for you.

  2. I think that is a very interesting paper and I must say I share your love for Shakespeare even if I don’t believe I can fully understand it as well as you obviously do. I’m a senior in high school and I actually just got cast as Lysander in our school’s production of it and I was wondering if maybe we could talk about the show so that I might be able to get a deeper understanding for the play and exactly what I need to do to give the play the performance it deserves, thanks!

Leave a Reply

